• RTR Elementary School
    111 County Road 8
    PO Box 659
    Tyler, MN 56178
    Phone: 507-247-5913
    Fax: 507-579-0692

    Elementary School Principal
    Cristy Olsen
    507-247-5913 ext 1119

    Elementary School Secretary
    Jordan Lichtsinn
    507-247-5913 ext 1118

  • 2012 National Blue Ribbon School

    Our school has been nominated as a 2012 National Blue Ribbon School! There were 7 schools out of all elementary, middle, and high schools in the state of Minnesota nominated for this award! A school is nominated by its Chief State School Officers based on one of two criteria: EXEMPLARY HIGH PERFORMING —being a school that consistently performs among the state’s highest performing schools as measured on state assessments or EXEMPLARY IMPROVING —a school that has reduced its achievement gap as measured on state assessments.

    RTR Elementary is considered an EXEMPLARY HIGH PERFORMING SCHOOL!

    This means our school is ranked among the state's highest performing schools as measured by our performance on state assessments.

    The National Blue Ribbon Schools award sets a standard of excellence for all schools striving for the highest level of achievement. Each year since 1982, the U.S. Department of Education has sought out schools where students attain and maintain high academic goals. The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program sets a high standard that should represent a goal for all schools that strive for excellence. For the past 29 years, this prestigious program has honored more than 6000 of America’s most successful schools. For public schools, the U. S. Secretary of Education invites Chief State School Officers to nominate schools from their state that meet the National Blue Ribbon School recognition criteria.

    RTR Elementary completed the application and submitted it to the US Department of Education on March 2, 2012. Next, there will be two review periods (one in April and one in May). The National Blue Ribbon winners will be announced sometime in September and will be honored at an awards ceremony in Washington, DC.

    Congratulations everyone on this wonderful award!